Editorial Team

From Book Owners Online

Editorial team


David Pearson

David devised the concept and content of Book Owners Online, and created many of the initial entries. He retired as Director of Culture, Heritage & Libraries for the City of London Corporation in 2017, after a career spent in libraries and collections, mostly in London. He has researched and published extensively in book history, and his books include Provenance research in book history (new edition, 2019), English bookbinding styles, 1450-1800 (2005, repr. 2014), Books as history (2008), Book ownership in Stuart England (2021). He is an honorary Senior Research Associate at UCL, a Past President of the Bibliographical Society, and teaches regularly on the Rare Book Schools in London and Virginia.

Clodagh Murphy

Clodagh worked on BOO as a research assistant 2019-20 and has been responsible for marking-up the entries according to a devised schema. Prior to joining the CELL team, she studied on King’s College London’s Early Modern English Literature: Text and Transmission MA and obtained her BA in English literature from the University of Sheffield. She is currently researching Elizabeth I's secretariat as a PhD student on the ERC consolidator project FEATHERS at Leiden University.

Matthew Symonds

Matthew is a Senior Research Associate at UCL and CELL’s Technical Director, responsible for the digital infrastructure behind BOO as well as CELL's other research projects. He is also Co-PI on CELL's major research project, The Archaeology of Reading in Early Modern Europe, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Volunteer Editors

We are extremely grateful to our volunteers who have editing rights to the database, and who are helping to build and improve it - if you would be interested in joining them, do please let us know.

  • Anne Deschaine
  • Jill Dye
  • Paul Fletcher
  • Ken Gibb
  • Sian King
  • Alex Kither
  • Ed Potten
  • David Shaw
  • Catherine Sutherland
  • Eleanor Swire
  • Sara Trevisan
  • Tim Underhill

Advisory Group

Book Owners Online is very grateful to an Advisory Group of curators and experts in this field who provide support and advice to the project. Current membership is:

  • Robyn Adams
  • Giles Bergel
  • Katie Birkwood
  • Louisianne Ferlier
  • Ed Potten
  • David Shaw
  • Elizabeth Williamson